Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee (URTAC) March 8, 2012

Nineteenth Meeting

Conference Call Minutes

A Federal Advisory Committee to the U.S. Secretary of Energy

Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee

I hereby certify that this transcript constitutes an accurate record of the Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee conference call held on March 8, 2012.

James Dwyer, Chair Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee

Emszelr 12

Date

Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee (URTAC) Teleconference, March 8, 2012

At 11:00 a.m., the Committee Chair, James Dwyer, called the meeting to order and welcomed all the members. Ms. Elena Melchert, who was appointed Acting Designated Federal Officer (DFO) (Attachment 1), called the roll of the members. Committee members in attendance were: James Dwyer, Jessica Cavens, Ken Bromfield, Nancy Brown, Wayne Camp, William Daugherty, Chris Hall, Bob Hardage, John Harju, Shahab Mohaghegh, Robert Kleinberg, Fletcher Lewis, Amy Mall, John Martin, Greg Mason, Gary Nilson, Ken Oglesby, Don Sparks, and Sam Whitney. Absent from the meeting were Dan Arthur and Brady Rodgers. Nineteen members were present, exceeding the minimum of twelve members required for a quorum.

Attending the meeting in Washington, D.C. was: Elena Melchert, Acting DFO, Trudy Transtrum and Gabby Intihar of DOE, and Rob Matey of IBM, meeting recorder. No members of the public were in attendance.

The DFO stated that a quorum had been achieved and the meeting could proceed with full deliberation by the Committee.

The Chair called on the Committee for their comments on the Editing Subcommittees report, which had been prepared and distributed to the members in its final form prior to the meeting. Several members provided comments and recommendations of changes.

The changes were agreed to by the Committee members, and the Chair called for a vote to accept the document as modified and it passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 12:05 p.m.

The agenda for the meeting is attached (Attachment 2).

Attachment 1

MEMORANDUM FOR FILE

- TO: UNCONVENTIONAL RESOURCES TECHNOLOGY ADVISORY COMMITTEE
- FROM: CHRISTOPHER A. SMITH DESIGNATED FEDERAL OFFICER UNCONVENTIONAL RESOURCES TECHNOLOGY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

SUBJECT: Acting Designated Federal Officer

I hereby designate Elena Melchert, Petroleum Engineer/Senior Program Manager for Oil and Gas Production Research, to serve as the Acting Designated Federal Officer for the meeting of the Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee on March 8, 2012, in Washington, DC.

Attachment 2

19th Meeting Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee March 8, 2012 Conference Call

Time:	11:00 a.m. EST
Date:	Thursday, March 8, 2012
Purpose:	During this meeting, the Committee will vote to accept the final report of comments and recommendations discussed at the meeting of February 28-29, 2012, and assembled by the Editing Subcommittee.

Instructions: **Please call-in before 11:00 am EASTERN.** The conference call-in line will be open as of 10:45 am. If you experience any problems connecting to the conference call, please contact The Office of Oil and Natural Gas at 202-586-5600.

Toll Free Number	1-800-857-5148
Passcode	40724

PUBLIC ACCESS: 1000 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20585

AGENDA

10:30 a.m. EASTERN	Registration; Begin Member call in
11:00 a.m.	Roll Call; Opening Remarks by the Committee Chair; Remarks by Designated Federal Officer; Report by the Editing Subcommittee; Member discussion regarding final report; Vote of Approval of Committee final report. Member discussion regarding next steps
12:30 p.m.	Adjourn

APPROVED:

Christopher Smith, Designated Federal Officer

Date