

Meeting Location – First Floor Conference Room, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA), 4301 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22203 (Ballston Metro)

U.S. Department of Energy Electricity Advisory Committee Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting	
12:00 to 1:00 pm	EAC Leadership Committee Meeting
	Registration (Entrance Corridor)
	 Public Sign-up for Comments on Day 2
1:00 to 1:20 pm	Welcome, Introductions, Developments since the June 2019 Meeting
	Mike Heyeck, EAC Chair and Christopher Lawrence, Acting Designated Federal
	Officer
1:20 to 1:40 pm	Update on the DOE Office of Electricity (OE) Programs and Initiatives
	Bruce J. Walker, Assistant Secretary, Office of Electricity, U.S. Department of Energy
1:40 to 2:00 pm	Update on the DOE Office of Nuclear Energy Programs and Initiatives
	Alison Hahn, Program Manager, Light Water Sustainability, Office of Nuclear Energy,
	U.S. Department of Energy
2:00 to 2:30 pm	Presentation: DOE Energy Storage Grand Challenge
	- Eric Hsieh, Director, Grid Systems and Components, DOE, OE, Advanced Grid
	Research and Development Division
	- Marcos Gonzales Harsha, Deputy Director, Partnerships & Investment, Office of
	Technology Transitions, U.S. Department of Energy
2:30 to 2:45 pm	Break
2:45 to 3:15 pm	Presentation on the Future of Energy Storage
	Dr. Paul Denholm, Principal Energy Analyst, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
3:15 to 4:00 pm	Panel Presentations: Energy Storage Deployment Case Studies
	Moderator: Shaun Mann, R&D Manager, Tri-State Generation and Transmission
	- Lee Ragsdale, Senior Vice President, Energy Delivery, North Carolina's Electric
	Cooperatives
	 Clay Koplin, CEO, Cordova Electric Cooperative
	- Andrew Levitt, Senior Business Solution Architect, PJM Interconnection, LLC
4:00 to 4:15 pm	Break
4:15 to 5:45	EAC Discussion with Storage Case Study Panelists
5:45 to 6:00 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn Day 1 of October 2019 Meeting of the EAC
	Mike Heyeck, EAC Chair
6:00 pm	No-Host Dinner for EAC Members and DOE Staff

U.S. Department of Energy Electricity Advisory Committee

Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting		
Thursday, October 17, 2019		
Prior to 8:00 am	Breakfast on your own	
8:00 to 8:10 am	Day 2 Opening Remarks	
-	Mike Heyeck, EAC Chair	
8:10 to 8:30 am	Discussion of Department of Energy, Office of Electricity Synchrophasor and Sensor	
	R&D Activities	
	 Gil Bindewald, Director of Grid Communications and Control, Advanced Grid Research and Development, Office of Electricity 	
	- Sandra Jenkins, General Engineer, Advanced Grid Research and Development,	
	Office of Electricity	
8:30 to 9:15 am	Panel Presentations: Impediments to Leveraging Phasor Measurement Unit (PMU)	
	Data and Synchrophasors	
	Moderator: Tom Bialek, San Diego Gas & Electric Company	
	- Jeff Dagle, Chief Electrical Engineer, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory	
	- Ali Yari, Director of Grid Operations, San Diego Gas & Electric Company	
	- Hamody Hindi, Bonneville Power Administration	
	- Paul McGlynn, Executive Director of Operations, PJM Interconnection, LLC	
9:15 to 9:30 am	Break	
9:30 to 10:45 am	EAC Discussion with PMU and Synchrophasor Panelists	
10:45 to 10:50 am	Break	
10:50 to 11:05 am	Energy Storage Subcommittee Update	
11:05 to 11:30 am	Smart Grid Subcommittee Update	
11:30 to 11:40 am	Public Comments	
	Must register at time of check-in	
11:40 to 12:00 pm	Annual Ethics Briefing for EAC Members	
	Brian Plesser, Office of General Counsel, DOE	
12:00 pm to 12:10 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn October 2019 Meeting of the EAC	
	Mike Heyeck, EAC Chair	