New and returning members of the Electricity Advisory Committee will advise on electricity resilience, reliability, security, interdependencies, and policy issues.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) announced the new members of the Electricity Advisory Committee (EAC), an important component of DOE’s strategy to improve its research and development portfolio and program activities.  Each member is appointed by U.S. Secretary of Energy Dan Brouillette for a two-year term.  The group reports to the DOE’s Assistant Secretary for Electricity and meets three times a year to advise DOE on a variety of electricity issues.  The thirty-five members of the EAC are from state governments, regional planning entities, utility companies, cyber security and national security firms, the natural gas sector, equipment manufacturers, construction and architectural companies, non-governmental organizations, and other electricity-related organizations.

“The Department’s priorities can only be achieved through coordination with passionate and dedicated outside stakeholders,” said Assistant Secretary Bruce Walker, himself a former member of the EAC appointed in 2008 by then-U.S. Secretary of Energy Samuel Bodman before joining DOE to lead the Office of Electricity in October 2017.  “The EAC’s advice, insights, and thoughtful feedback all dramatically improve DOE’s electricity initiatives.  The combination of industry stakeholders plus the capabilities of DOE and the National Labs enhances our ability to identify and solve future electricity challenges.”

During their two-year term, the EAC members will advise DOE on current and future electric grid reliability, resilience, security, sector interdependence, and policy issues.  They will periodically review and make recommendations on DOE electric grid-related programs and initiatives, including electricity-related R&D programs and modeling efforts.  Members will also identify emerging issues related to electricity production and delivery and advise on Federal coordination with utility industry authorities in the event of supply disruptions and other emergencies.

The thirty-five appointed members of the EAC, of which twenty-two are returning members, begin their term on July 1, 2020 and are listed alphabetically below:

Sharon Allan
Chief Innovation Officer
Smart Electric Power Alliance

Christopher Ayers
Executive Director
North Carolina Utilities Commission Public Staff

Tom Bialek
Chief Engineer
San Diego Gas & Electric Company

Daniel Brooks
Vice President of Integrated Grid
Electric Power Research Institute

Laney Brown
Vice President, Retail E-Solutions
Avangrid Inc.

Paul Cicio
Industrial Energy Consumers of America

Robert Cummings
Red Yucca Power Consulting

Ann Delenela 
Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer

Kimberly Denbow
Senior Director of Security, Operations & Engineering Services
American Gas Association

Joy Ditto
President and Chief Executive Officer
American Public Power Association

Andrew (Drew) Fellon
Alliance Advisory Services

Flora Flygt
Strategic Planning & Policy Advisor
American Transmission Company (Ret.)

Sheri Givens
Vice President, U.S. Regulatory & Customer Strategy
National Grid

Dave Herlong
Senior Director, Central Maintenance and Construction
Florida Power & Light Company

Michael Heyeck
The Grid Group LLC
*Committee Vice Chair

Paul Hudson
General Infrastructure LLC

Lola Infante 
Senior Director, Clean Energy Technology and Policy 
Edison Electric Institute

Jordan Karem 
Red Arrow Strategies

Mladen Kezunovic
Regents Professor and Eugene E. Webb Professor
Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Director, Smart Grid Center
Texas A&M University

Clay Koplin
Chief Executive Officer
Cordova Electric Cooperative

Arthur Kressner
Principal and President 
Grid Connections LLC

David Lebeter
Chief Operating Officer
Hydro One

Robert M. Lee
Chief Executive Officer

Nicole Lowen
Hawaii House of Representatives

Jay Morrison
Vice President, Regulatory Issues
National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

Richard S. Mroz
Managing Director
Resolute Strategies LLC

Delia Patterson
‎Senior Vice President of Advocacy and Communications and General Counsel
American Public Power Association

Don Parsons
Georgia House of Representatives 

Darlene Phillips
Senior Director, Operations Engineering Support
PJM Interconnection

Wanda Reder
President and Chief Executive Officer
Grid-X Partners LLC
*Committee Chair

Paul Stockton
Managing Director
Sonecon LLC 

David Wade
President and Chief Executive Officer
Electric Power Board of Chattanooga

Craig J. Wiener
Technical Fellow 
The MITRE Corporation

Tom Weaver
Manager, Distribution System Planning
American Electric Power

Jim Yacone
Mission and Partnership
SANS Institute