On December 14, 2023, the Office of Clean Energy Demonstrations (OCED) announced the selection of three Carbon Capture Demonstration Projects for award negotiation. Local stakeholders will have substantive opportunities to engage with both DOE and the Carbon Capture Demonstration project teams, starting during the negotiation process and extending throughout the full lifecycle of each project.

Click on image to view a larger version.

National Briefing

As part of the Department’s commitment to transparency, OCED held a virtual national briefing on December 18, 2023 to provide information on the selected projects, OCED’s approach to clean energy demonstrations, and opportunities for engagement. Slides from the briefing are available here and the recording is available below. 

Video Url
Video recording of the Carbon Capture Demonstration Projects Program Selections Webinar, featuring senior DOE officials as they discuss the three selected Carbon Capture Demonstration Projects.
Office of Clean Energy Demonstrations, U.S. Department of Energy

Community Briefings

DOE also co-hosted virtual community-level briefings for each Carbon Capture Demonstration project to provide local communities with a forum to learn about and provide input on the selected projects. Details and slide links for the community briefings are included below. If there are specific questions you would like DOE or the selected project teams to address, please email us at: Engage_CCS@hq.doe.gov

Project Tundra (Center, North Dakota) 
Tuesday, January 9, 2024 | 7:00-8:00 p.m. ET/6:00-7:00 p.m. CT
This briefing has passed. View the slides here.

Baytown CCS Project (Baytown, Texas) 
Wednesday, January 10, 2024 | 7:00-8:00 p.m. ET/6:00-7:00 p.m. CT
This briefing has passed. View the slides here.

Sutter Decarbonization Project (Yuba City, California) 
Thursday, January 11, 2024 | 8:00-9:00 p.m. ET/5:00-6:00 p.m. PT
This briefing has passed. View the slides here.