National Nuclear Security Administration

Sixteen NNSA lab scientists honored for exceptional physical science work

November 14, 2016

You are here

Sixteen NNSA laboratory scientists are being honored as new American Physical Society (APS) fellows in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the field of physics through research, leadership, application, and educational contributions.

APS is a non-profit membership organization of more than 51,000 physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industry, working to advance the knowledge of physics. APS fellowships are awarded to researchers after nomination and election by their professional peers through an extensive evaluation process. Election to APS fellowship is limited to no more than half a percent of APS' membership during a given year.

“It takes extraordinary innovation and expertise to successfully carry out the missions of the nuclear security enterprise,” said NNSA administrator Lt. Gen. Frank Klotz (Ret.). “Recognition of 16 NNSA researchers as APS Fellows affirms that our labs are important and attractive places for top science talent. We commend these individuals on their pioneering research and making the world a safer place.”

In the past 30 years, more than 340 team members of the nuclear security enterprise have been elected APS fellows. From each of NNSA’s labs, the new APS fellows were cited by their nominating peer organizations for their leadership and innovation through a variety of physical science contributions.

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

  • Adam Bernstein: For pioneering work at the intersection of nuclear science and nuclear nonproliferation, including the development of antineutrino-based methods for monitoring the production of fissile material and large volume detectors for rapid screening of cargo for the presence of fissile material.
  • Hui Chen: For pioneering experimental research on relativistic positron generation using ultra-intense short-pulse lasers.
  • Omar A. Hurricane: For visionary leadership in experiments on the National Ignition Facility laser and innovative work in understanding instabilities in high energy density and inertial confinement fusion plasmas leading to the first laboratory demonstration of an alpha-heating-dominated, thermonuclear plasma producing a fusion energy exceeding its total stored energy.
  • James E. Trebes: For contributions in laser physics and the application of physics to other disciplines, for leadership in multiple national security areas, and for contributions to education in the sciences and engineering.

Los Alamos National Laboratory

  • Herbert Funsten: For pioneering discoveries of the global structure and dynamics of the plasma interaction of the heliosphere with the interstellar medium, and for leadership of the instrumentation that enabled these discoveries.
  • Richard Gustavsen: For pioneering studies of the dynamic and high-pressure mechanical and chemical behavior of energetic materials, for shock initiation data used to calibrate reactive burn models, for the development and extension of photon Doppler velocimetry and magnetic particle velocity gauge methods, for mentorship of detonation physicists worldwide, and for leadership and service in the shock physics community.
  • Paul Johnson: For his role in originating and significantly advancing the domain of nonlinear elasticity with a primary focus on earth materials and energy reservoir imaging, and for his role in characterizing dynamical wave interactions on earth faults including fault triggering and dynamically induced memory effects.
  • John L. Kline: For seminal contributions to the understanding and development of hohlraum drivers for inertial confinement fusion and their use for radiation transport, hydrodynamic, and ignition science experiments.
  • Joel Kress: For contributions to computational scattering, materials, and dense plasma simulation techniques.
  • Evgenya Smirnova-Simakov: For the development of photonic-band gap accelerating structures.
  • James H. Werner: For pioneering contributions to single molecule tracking, optical microscopy, and the development of fluorescent probes for biological imaging and sensing.
  • Jian-Xin Zhu: For outstanding and original contributions to correlated electron systems, specifically electronic structure in unconventional superconductors and heavy fermions.

Sandia National Laboratories

  • François Léonard: For fundamental studies of the physics of nanoscale electronic devices.
  • Andrew Landahl: For outstanding leadership and conscientious service to the quantum information community, and pioneering contributions to quantum computing theory, including fault-tolerant quantum computing, quantum error correction, universal adiabatic quantum computing, and novel quantum search algorithms.
  • Hongyou Fan: For pioneering contributions to the development of novel synthesis methods and self-assembly processes to fabricate nanostructured materials for nanoelectronic and nanophotonic applications.
  • Igal Brener: For contributions to optical phenomena in semiconductors, including their coupling to metasurfaces for passive, tunable, and nonlinear metamaterials, and coherent terahertz phenomena and instrumentation.