National Nuclear Security Administration

Six NNSA teams receive Secretarial Honor Awards

May 7, 2015

You are here

Six NNSA teams today received the 2015 DOE Secretarial Honor Award, the highest internal non-monetary recognition that DOE employees can receive. The awards are designed to recognize the career service and contributions of employees to the mission of the department and to the benefit of the nation. DOE Secretary Ernest Moniz recognized the teams for surpassing the highest standards of excellence and for demonstrating great knowledge and ability and for exhibiting an exceptional commitment to public service.

Highly Enriched Uranium Transparency Team
This award is given to the NNSA Highly Enriched Uranium (HEU) Transparency Team for their exceptional teamwork, dedication, and technical expertise in ensuring that the major goals of the 1993 United States-Russian Federation HEU Purchase Agreement were successfully achieved in 2013. Members: Gregory Dwyer, Connie Haga, Susan Martindale, Dennis Meyers, Kristin Oland, Dave Thomas and William Wanderer.

Office of Intelligence and Counterintelligence Analytic Team
In recognition of their contributions to a technically challenging and high priority Intelligence Community Assessment, the results of which will have a direct impact on Department of Energy and National Nuclear Security Administration policy and budgetary decisions. Their expert analytic inputs and extraordinary dedication to an intensive and complex interagency coordination process resulted in an assessment that effectively examines and explains complex technical subjects. Their efforts represent significant achievement in advancing the United States Government’s understanding of a growing foreign nuclear threat and its implications for the Department of Energy and national security policy. Members: Briggs W. Atherton, Christopher F. Carson, Dale H. Darling, Gregory J. DiPeso, Thomas J. Grab, Carl R. Hagelberg, Arlen S. Heger, Mark S. Jarzemba, Brian E. Kanagaki, Thomas D. Kunkle, Aaron R. Miles, Brent A. Palmer, Jason A. Pruet, Joseph C. Sanders, Ana M. Schwendt, William J. Tedeschi, Charles W. Wilkerson, Jr., Deborah A. Wojtowicz, James K. Wolford, Jr.

NNSA Production Office (NPO) Management & Operating (M&O) Contract Placement Team
The NNSA Production Office (NPO) Management & Operating (M&O) Contract Placement Team is recognized for the extraordinary effort put forth in developing an innovative procurement strategy, awarding a highly competitive $23 billion contract, and commencing contract administration efforts on a vehicle that could save DOE more than $3 billion during the life of the contract. Members: Leticia Y. Barela, Young H. Cho, Justin A. Crosby, Robert A. Edlund, Kim M. Gallegos, Chad W. Glines, Karen L. Hart, Kenneth A. Hoar, Charmaine A. Howson, Jason D. Kugler, JiSan A. Lopez, Joseph M. Newell, Daniel J. Saiz and Robert W. Scott.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission Review Support Team
For outstanding meritorious achievement in support of an independent review by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), from June 2012 to February 2014, of the nuclear reactor plant designed for the GERALD R. FORD Class of aircraft carriers. Members: Philip N. Breneman, William E. Chestnut, Mark A. Dietrick, Stephen E. Fisher, Ismael L. Garcia, Alan W. Gibney, Paul E. Hartnett, Dimitrios Kokkinos, Aaron D. Lentner, Mark E. Madonia, Matthew C. Napoli, Thomas E. Roberts and Gordon N. Szeto.

Radiological Laboratory Utility Office Building (RLUOB) Transition Team
In recognition of contributions to the RLUOB Transition Team, whose excellence in teamwork and performance enabled implementation of a key step in the NNSA Plutonium Infrastructure Strategy. This transition to operations, which resulted from the team’s dedication, leadership, hard work, and countless hours from January to June of 2013, represents a significant milestone in the modernization of the plutonium infrastructure and establishes a path forward in the cessation of operations in the aging CMR Building. The RLUOB, a state-of-the-art analytical laboratory facility, will allow Los Alamos National Laboratory and the Department of Energy (DOE) to advance national security science and support DOE missions in a more modern, safe, and efficient infrastructure. For efforts and dedication to DOE missions, the RLUOB Transition Team is awarded the Secretary of Energy’s Achievement Award. Members: Brett A. Cederdahl, David L. Gallimore, Tim R. Leckbee, Mark W. Myatt, Timothy O. Nelson, Michael J. Parkes, Denise L. Thronas, Scott A. Warnock, Dr. Amy S. Wong

US/UK Mutual Defense Agreement Amendment Team
In recognition of your exceptional teamwork and dedication to ensure successful completion of the timely negotiation and amendment to the 1958 United States/United Kingdom (US/UK) Mutual Defense Agreement (MDA). Members: Steve Alldridge, Mark Arnone, Jeffrey Avery, Michael Bodin, Daniel Dalton, Laura Fellow, Harry Heintzelman, Monica Knapp, Tony Lott, Alex Mikulsky, Matthew Napoli, John Plumb, Sarah Prosser, Frank Putzu, Brooke Samples, Katie Strangis and Carl Tierne.