National Nuclear Security Administration

NNSA former team members inducted into the Order of the Nucleus

December 2, 2016

You are here

From left are Maj. Gen. Scott W. Jansson, AFNWC commander; Dr. Donald L. Cook; Col. George R. Farfour; Eric N. Single; Eileen Ball and Katrina Benjamin, who accepted on behalf of their father Benjamin C. Benjamin; Jeffrey W. Bean; and James A. Moyers.

Two former NNSA team members were recently awarded this year’s Order of the Nucleus, an Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center (AFNWC) award.

Former NNSA Deputy Administrator for Defense Programs Donald L. Cook and former Sandia National Laboratories Senior Mentor for Weapon Interns Benjamin C. Benjamin (posthumous), were inducted into the order. Cook and Benjamin’s two daughters attended the ceremony. All three spoke briefly.  

The Order of the Nucleus is an annual award to recognize individuals and teams who support the Nuclear Security Enterprise with distinction. It started in 2011.

Other inductees included:

  • Jeffrey W. Bean, chief engineer, ICBM Systems Directorate, AFNWC
  • Col. George R. Farfour, AFNWC vice commander
  • James A. Moyers, center historian, AFNWC
  • Eric N. Single, chief, Global Strike Division, Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Acquisition

During this year’s event, Maj. Gen. Scott W. Jansson, AFNWC commander, spoke about the importance of the inductees’ work and efforts. He recognized the enduring work as being pivotal to the United States and its allies’ efforts in maintaining a strong nuclear deterrent.

Since the first nuclear security enterprise professionals were inducted into the Order of the Nucleus, three teams and 67 individuals including this year’s awardees, have been honored.