You are here

Paul A. Fleury is the Frederick William Beinecke Professor of Engineering and Applied Physics, and Professor of Physics at Yale University. He is the founding Director of the Yale Institute for Nanoscience and Quantum Engineering. He served as Dean of Engineering at Yale from 2000 until 2008. Prior to joining Yale Dr. Fleury was Dean of the School of Engineering at the University of New Mexico from January 1996, following 30 years at AT&T Bell Laboratories. At Bell Laboratories he was director of three different research divisions covering physics, materials and materials processing research between 1979 and 1996. During 1992 and 1993 he was Vice President for Research and Exploratory Technology at Sandia National Laboratories

Dr. Fleury is the author of more than 130 scientific publications on non-linear optics, spectroscopy and phase transformations in condensed matter systems and has co-edited three books. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science; and a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He received the 1985 Michelson-Morley Award and the 1992 Frank Isakson Prize of the American Physical Society for his research on optical phenomena and phase transitions in condensed matter systems.

He has been a member of numerous National Research Council study panels, including that of the 2007 National Nanotechnology Initiative review, “A Matter of Size”, as well as the 2013 NNI triennial review committee. He has served on the Secretary of Energy’s “Laboratory Operations Board” and the University of California President’s Council on the National Laboratories. He has also served on review committees for Brookhaven, Lawrence Berkeley, Oak Ridge, Sandia and Los Alamos National Laboratories and for six years as a member of the Visiting Committee for Advanced Technology for NIST. He is currently active Sandia, ORNL and LANL advisory committees in addition to his service on the Board on Physics and Astronomy and the Laboratory Assessment Board of the National Academy of Sciences. He received his Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees in 1960 and 1962 from John Carroll University, and his doctorate from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1965 - all in Physics.