Jared Cohon

Co-Chair, Commission to Review the Effectiveness of the National Energy Laboratories

You are here

Jared Cohon is President Emeritus and University Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Engineering and Public Policy at Carnegie Mellon University.

Jared Cohon served as president of Carnegie Mellon for 16 years (1997-2013). He came to Carnegie Mellon from Yale, where he was Dean of the School of Forestry and Environmental Studies from 1992 to 1997. He started his teaching and research career in 1973 at Johns Hopkins, where he was a faculty member in the Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering for 19 years. He also served as Assistant and Associate Dean of Engineering and Vice Provost for Research at Johns Hopkins. Dr. Cohon earned a B.S. degree in civil engineering from the University of Pennsylvania in 1969 and a Ph.D. in civil engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1973.

An author, coauthor, or editor of one book and more than 80 professional publications, Dr. Cohon is an authority on environmental and water resource systems analysis, an interdisciplinary field that combines engineering, economics and applied mathematics. He has worked on water resource problems in the United States, South America and Asia and on energy facility siting, including nuclear waste shipping and storage. In addition to his academic experience, he served in 1977 and 1978 as legislative assistant for energy and the environment to the late Honorable Daniel Patrick Moynihan, United States Senator from New York. President Bill Clinton appointed Dr. Cohon to the Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board in 1995 and appointed him as chairman in 1997. His term on the Board ended in 2002.  President George W. Bush appointed Dr. Cohon in 2002 to the Homeland Security Advisory Council and President Barack Obama reappointed him in 2009. His term on the Council ended in 2013.

In 2009, Dr. Cohon was named a Distinguished Member of the American Society of Civil Engineers. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering and to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2012. He has received honorary degrees from the Korean Advanced Institute for Science and Technology, the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon.