You are here


Room 1301
4850 Mark Center Drive
Alexandria, VA 22311
September 15, 2014

Download Meeting Minutes

10:30 – 10:45 AM Welcome and Introduction
Commission Co-chairs, T.J. Glauthier and Jared Cohon

10:45 AM – 12:00 PM Review of Prior Studies with Authors (Panel Discussion) (Download Presentations)
Leveraging Science for Security: A Strategy for the Nuclear Weapons Laboratories in the 21st Century, by Elizabeth Turpen
Positioning DOE's Labs for the Future: A Review of DOE's Management and Oversight of the National Laboratories, by Jonathan Breul and Al Kliman
Managing for High-Quality Science and Engineering at the NNSA National Security Laboratories, by Alan Shaw and Scott Weidman

12:00 – 12:45 PM Lunch

12:45 - 3:30 PM DOE Office Directors:

12:45 – 1:30 PM Office of Science Laboratories (Download Presentation)
Dr. Patricia M. Dehmer, Deputy Director for Science Programs, Office of Science

1:30 – 2:15 PM NNSA Laboratories
Ms. Anne Harrington, Deputy Administrator for Defense Nuclear Nonproliferation, NNSA
Dr. Kathleen Alexander, Assistant Deputy Administrator for Research, Development, Test, and Evaluation, NNSA

2:15 – 2:30 PM Break

2:30 – 3:30 PM Energy Laboratories (Download Presentations)
Dr. David Danielson, Assistant Secretary of Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
Dr. Peter B. Lyons, Assistant Secretary for Office of Nuclear Energy
Mr. Christopher A. Smith, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Office of Fossil Energy

3:30 – 4:00 PM Public Comment

4:00 PM Adjournment