You are here


Argonne National Laboratory
TCS Conference Center
9700 S. Cass Ave
Argonne, IL 60436

November 4, 2014

Download Meeting Minutes

9:00 – 9:05 AM Welcome and Introduction
Commission Co-chairs, T.J. Glauthier and Jared Cohon

9:05 – 10:00 AM National Laboratories Director Panel (Download Presentation)
Peter Littlewood, Director, Argonne National Laboratory
Nigel Lockyer, Director, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

10:00 – 10:15 AM Break

10:15 – 12:00 PM Industry Partners Panel (Download Presentations)
Michael G. Andrew, Director - Academic and Technical Programs, Advanced Products and Materials, Johnson Controls Power Solutions
Michael A. Fetcenko, Vice President and Managing Director, BASF Battery Materials – Ovonic, BASF Corporation
Brian Landes, Technical Leader, Dow Chemical Company
Adam Kahn, Founder and CEO, AKHAN Technologies, Inc.
Stephen R. Wasserman, Director, LRL Collaborative Access Team, Senior Research Fellow, Discovery Chemistry Research & Technologies, Lilly Research Laboratories, Eli Lilly and Company
Stephen E. Zimmer, Executive Director, United States Council for Automotive Research (USCAR)

12:00 – 1:00 PM Lunch

1:00 – 2:30 PM University Partners Panel (Download Presentations)
Thomas Glasmacher, Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) Project Manager, Michigan State University
Matt Tirrell, Pritzker Director and Professor, Institute for Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago
Jeffrey Binder, Director of the Applied Research Institute, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2:30 – 3:00 PM Public Comment

3:00 PM Adjournment