The DOE Security Plan for the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program

You are here

January 23, 2009

DOE Security Plan for the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program

The U.S. Congress passed the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act (EEOICPA) in 2000. The purpose of EEOICPA is to compensate eligible employees and former employees of the Department of Energy (DOE), its contractors and subcontractors, or certain survivors of such individuals for occupational illness and death arising from work at a covered facility. The program also provides benefits to certain beneficiaries, such as uranium miners and millers, under section 5 of the Radiation Exposure Compensation Act (RECA).

Individuals, or their eligible survivors, who worked as a Federal employee, contractor, or subcontractor at a DOE facility, a designated Atomic Weapons Employer (AWE) facility, or a designated beryllium vendor facility may be eligible for benefits under EEOICPA. Part B of EEOICPA provides compensation to workers with beryllium disease, silicosis, or radiation-induced cancer. Legitimate claimants may receive a lump-sum payment of $150,000. Additionally, medical benefits are payable to eligible employees who have covered illnesses. Uranium workers who receive compensation under section 5 of RECA are eligible for an additional $50,000 in compensation. In October 2004, Congress amended EEOICPA to add part E, which provides compensation up to $250,000 in medical, impairment, and wage-loss benefits for DOE contractor and subcontractor employees whose illnesses were caused by exposure to any toxic substance while working at a DOE facility. Part E benefits were also made available to workers as covered by RECA. There are over 300 facilities covered by these Acts, including DOE facilities, beryllium vendors, and AWEs. A facility may be a multi-designated facility due to its activities associated as a DOE facility, AWE, or remediation activities.