Women @ Energy Profiles

You are here

The Women @ Energy series showcases profiles of inspirational women in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) careers at the Department of Energy all across the country. Discover what inspired these women to work in STEM, what they do day-to-day in their jobs, their ideas for engaging others in STEM, tips, and more.

We hope the stories inspire you to think about your future in STEM.

Questions? Comments? Want to request a speaker? Get in touch by emailing Women@energy.gov.

Meet over 200 Women in STEM Careers at the DOE

Browse all profiles below or search by STEM field, degree or region.

Megan Yachini at her desk
Women @ Energy Megan A. Yachini
Megan A. Yachini is as a Senior Business Analyst for KeyLogic Systems, Inc., and is a site-support contractor for NETL in Morgantown, WV.
Dr. Circe Verba at the lab.
Women @ Energy Circe Verba
Dr. Circe Verba is a research geologist, science communicator, and STEMinst at the National Energy Technology Laboratory.
Jennifer Weidman at the lab
Women @ Energy Jennifer Weidman
Jennifer Weidman is a research scientist working on developing high value carbon nanomaterials from an inexpensive coal feedstock.
Dr Patcharin Burke with her pet dog
Women @ Energy Patcharin "Rin" Burke
Dr. Rin Burke is a Materials Scientist and a Federal Project Manager on the Technical Development & Integration Center's Advanced Energy System Team.
See caption for alt text.
Women @ Energy Kelly Rose
Kelly Rose, Ph.D. is a Geology & Geospatial Team Lead at the National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL).
Christina Wildfire and Mike Spencer Evaluating a Coal Sample
Women @ Energy Christina Wildfire
Christina Wildfire leads research for low pressure ammonia synthesis using a microwave reactor with ARPA-E in partnership with WVU, PNNL, and FSU.
Dr. Djuna Gulliver of NETL in the field
Women @ Energy Djuna Gulliver
Djuna Gulliver is a Research Environmental Engineer on the Biogeochemistry & Water Team in NETL’s Research & Innovation Center.
Photo of Pamela K. Isom, Deputy Chief Information Officer (DCIO) for Architecture, Engineering, Technology, and Innovation (AET&I) and Chief Data Officer (CDO) for the US Department of Energy (DOE)
Women @ Energy Pamela K. Isom
Pamela K. Isom is the Deputy Chief Information Officer (DCIO) for Architecture, Engineering, Technology, and Innovation (AET&I) and Chief Data Officer
Photo of Anne White next to machinery
Women @ Energy Anne Marie White
Anne Marie White was sworn in March 29, 2018 as the Assistant Secretary for the Office of Environmental Management (EM).
Karen S. Evans, Assistant Secretary for the Office of Cybersecurity, Energy Security, and Emergency Response (CESER).
Women @ Energy Karen S. Evans
Karen S. Evans was sworn in as the Assistant Secretary for the Office of Cybersecurity, Energy Security, and Emergency Response (CESER) in 2018.
Women@Energy Lauren Moraski Water Power Technologies Office
Women @ Energy Lauren Moraski
Lauren Moraski is a Technology Manager for Marine and Hydrokinetic Technology Development in the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy.
Women@Energy - Erika Gupta Fuel Cells Technology Office
Women @ Energy Erika Gupta
Erika Gupta is an operations supervisor in the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy's (EERE) Fuel Cells Technologies Office (FCTO).
Headshot of Alison Goss
Women @ Energy Alison Goss Eng
Alison Goss Eng is the program manager for feedstock supply and logistics and advanced algal systems in EERE's Bioenergy Technology Office.
Women @ Energy: Othalene Lawrence
Othalene Lawrence is EERE's lead program manager for diversity and inclusion, outreach, STEM, and veteran's initiatives.
Women @ Energy: Alice Wang
Alice is a program manager for EERE's Tech-to-Market team, catalyzing new networks to help entrepreneurs move technologies from research into market.
Women @ Energy: Valri Lightner
Valri Lightner is a senior technical manager and supervisory engineer in the Advanced Manufacturing Office at the Department of Energy.
Women @ Energy: Johanna Wolfson
Dr. Johanna Wolfson is the Director of Technology-to-Market in DOE¹s Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE).
Women @ Energy: Suzanne Tegen
Suzanne Tegen is the wind and water deployment manager at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory’s (NREL) National Wind Technology Center.
Women @ Energy: Linda Silverman
Linda Silverman is the director of the DOE's Solar Decathlon.
Women @ Energy: Clarina R. dela Cruz
Clarina R. dela Cruz is lead instrument scientist at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.
Women @ Energy: Radja Boughezal
Radja Boughezal is a staff scientist at Argonne National Laboratory, HEP Division.
Women @ Energy: Eve Kovacs
Eve Kovacs works at Argonne National Laboratory.
Women @ Energy: Katie Heroux
Katie J. Heroux is a Senior Scientist A at Savannah River National Lab (SRNL).
Women @ Energy: Simona E. Hunyadi Murph
Simona E. Hunyadi Murph is a principal scientist at Savannah River National Laboratory.
Women @ Energy: Vivian O’Dell
Vivian O’Dell is a Scientist II at Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab).