Dr. Terry A. Michalske is Savannah River Nuclear Solutions (SRNS), LLC, Executive Vice President and Director of the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Savannah River National Laboratory (SRNL). In this position, he is responsible for the management, operations and strategic directions of the laboratory. Currently, the laboratory has approximately 1,000 employees and conducts research and development for a diversified portfolio of federal agencies supporting national missions in environmental management, national security and clean energy. As the DOE Environmental Management Laboratory, SRNL provides scientific and technological strategic direction and program support for the nation’s legacy waste cleanup program.

Dr. Michalske has more than 30 years of experience in the fields of materials science, nanotechnology, biotechnology, energy science and national security systems. Among his various positions prior to joining SRNL, Dr. Michalske has served as founding Director for the DOE Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies, Director for the DOE Combustion Research Facility, Chairman of the Board of Directors for the Joint BioEnergy Institute, and Director of Energy and Security Systems at Sandia National Laboratories.

In addition to his current duties as SRNL Laboratory Director, Dr. Michalske serves as a Trustee of Alfred University and the South Carolina Research Authority, sits on the Secretary of Energy’s Laboratory Policy Council and is the past Chairman of the National Laboratory Directors Council.

He serves as the Forum on Energy Editorial Advisory Board Co-Chair, and a member of the University of South Carolina–Aiken Engineering Advisory Board and the Georgia Regents University James M. Hull College of Business Advisory Board.

Dr. Michalske has testified before the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, and the state legislatures of California, New Mexico and South Carolina on topics including nanotechnology, energy security and environmental cleanup. He is a Fellow of the American Ceramic Society and the American Vacuum Society. In 2015, he was selected as the National Laboratory Director of the Year by the DOE Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization.

Dr. Michalske holds seven patents, has authored 90 journal publications, and has been a collaborator on several books. He is a member of several technical societies, panels and advisory boards and has chaired numerous technical workshops and symposia. Dr. Michalske’s research awards include the Orton Lecture Award; an R&D 100 award (Interfacial Force Microscope); the Woldemar A. Weyl International Glass Science Award from the International Congress on Glass; and the Ross Coffin Purdy Award from the American Ceramic Society. He was a two-time winner of the DOE/BES Materials Science Award for Outstanding Technological Accomplishment.