The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Solar Energy Technologies Office (SETO) is hosting the second National Community Solar Partnership Annual Summit on January 25th, 2022.


This year’s summit theme, ‘To 5 Million and Beyond: Community Solar’s Pathway to Success,’ reflects National Community Solar Partnership’s new target goal to power the equivalent of 5 million households with community solar by 2025, realizing $1 billion in energy bill savings for subscribers. Through stakeholder feedback and market analysis, the Partnership has developed a roadmap to address persistent barriers affecting equitable access to community solar across the country. 

At the Annual Summit in January 2022, NCSP and DOE leadership will discuss the plan to reach this new goal – what achieving it will mean for the community solar industry, and why, with the support of our growing community, we are confident we can reach it.


Time Session Title Speaker(s)
11:00 a.m. – 11:10 a.m. Welcome Address Principal Deputy Asst. Secretary Kelly Speakes-Backman, U.S. Department of Energy
11:10 a.m. – 11:50 a.m. National Community Solar Partnership Target and Modeling Pathway to Success Moderator: Nicole Steele, U.S. Department of Energy
Roundtable Guests: 
Jenny Heeter, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Dave Feldman, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Ammar Qusaibaty, U.S. Department of Energy
11:50 a.m. – 11:55 a.m. Break  
11:55 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. Keynote Address TBA on January 19, 2022
12:15 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. State Engagement Roundtable TBA
1:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m Lunch Break  
1:15 p.m. – 2:15 p.m. Access to Financing Roundtable Moderator: Jahi Wise, Senior Advisor for Climate Policy and Finance, White House Office of Domestic Climate Policy
Roundtable Guests:
Eric Hangen, Senior Research Fellow, University of New Hampshire’s Carsey School of Public Policy;
Michelle Moore, CEO, Groundswell;
Victor Rojas, Senior Vice President, Sustainable Capital Advisors
2:15 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Technical Expertise and Capacity Building Roundtable Moderator: Ajulo E. Otho, Esq., Founder & CEO, EnerWealth Solutions and General Counsel, Carolina Solar Services;
Roundtable Guests:
Sandy Fazeli, Senior Managing Director, National Association of State Energy Officials;
Travis Neal, Head Accountant, Orcas Power and Light Cooperative;
Lauren Westmoreland, Vice President, Energy & Sustainability, Stewards for Affordable Housing
3:00p.m. – 3:05 p.m. Break  
3:05p.m. – 3:50 p.m. Messaging and Recognition Roundtable Moderator: Katherine Hamilton, Chair, 38 North Solutions
Roundtable Guests:
Zaid Ashai, Chairman and CEO, Nexamp;
Kiran Bhatraju, Founder and CEO, Arcadia;
Julia Hamm, President and CEO, Smart Electric Power Alliance; 
Kristal Hansley, Founder and CEO, WeSolar
3:50 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Partner Commitments and Next Steps Nicole Steele, U.S. Department of Energy 

For regular event updates and access to exclusive National Community Solar Partnership resources and opportunities, register to join the Partnership today. Membership in the National Community Solar Partnership is free and open to any community solar stakeholder located or doing business in the U.S. 

If you have any additional questions, please reach out to for more information.

Learn more about the National Community Solar Partnership.