Department of Energy

A Statement from U.S. Secretary of Energy Ernest Moniz on New Leadership at Two National Laboratories

March 27, 2014

You are here

"This week, two of the Department of Energy’s National Laboratories welcomed new directors -- Peter Littlewood to Argonne National Laboratory and Bill Goldstein to Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.

"As a professor of physics at the University of Chicago and the Associate Laboratory Director, Peter will continue the great work that Eric Isaacs fostered in his tenure as Director. Argonne is known for its transformational work in batteries and energy storage, high-performance computing and synchrotron science. I also thank Eric for his great service over the past five years.

"Bill has a strong commitment to, and understanding of, the critical role Lawrence Livermore plays in national security, not only through the stockpile stewardship program, but through advancing energy and environmental research, homeland security, high-energy density physics, computational science and more. His skills and experience will ensure Lawrence Livermore continues its history of scientific and technological excellence in service to our nation. I am thankful to Bret Knapp for providing strong leadership as acting director during the search and to former director Parney Albright for his many contributions to nuclear security and homeland defense.

"We look forward to seeing the important innovations that both Argonne and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratories will put forth in the national interest with this renewal of strong leadership."