WASHINGTON – On July 10-11, the U.S. Department of Energy will host its fifth annual conference, Biomass 2012: Confronting Challenges, Creating Opportunities – Sustaining a Commitment to Bioenergy. Biomass 2012 will bring together hundreds of diverse stakeholders in the public and private sectors to discuss the latest advances in bioenergy technology, policy news and financing strategies.

As part of President Obama’s all-of-the-above energy strategy, the Energy Department is working in partnership with industry and other federal agencies to catalyze breakthroughs in innovative biofuel technologies and advance biofuels production at refineries across the country.  More on the Department’s work on biofuels is available HERE.

The Biomass 2012 conference will provide a forum for open dialogue on new technologies and ways to overcome common scientific, technological and market challenges across the industry as we develop the next generation of U.S. biofuels that can play a key role in reducing America’s dependence on foreign oil.

The Biomass 2012 conference will include:

  • A conversation with Secretary Chu, moderated by John Kneiss, director of Hart Energy Consulting North America
  • Keynote remarks from top industry and public leaders, including U.S. Senator Chris Coons (DE); Vice Admiral Dennis McGinn, President of the American Council on Renewable Energy (ACORE); Heather Zichal, Deputy Assistant to the President for Energy and Climate Change; Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy David Danielson; and a broad range of industry executives
  • A variety of plenary sessions on the technological and market outlooks facing the bioenergy industry, as well as a poster and exhibit hall featuring cutting-edge biofuels companies, technologies and university researchers.

The full agenda is available HERE.  

WHAT:        Biomass 2012 Conference

WHEN:        Tuesday, July 10 to Wednesday, July 11, 2012

WHERE:      Washington, D.C. Convention Center

       801 Mt. Vernon Place, NW

       Washington, D.C. 20001


  • Energy Secretary Steven Chu
  • Heather Zichal, Deputy Assistant to the President for Energy and Climate Change
  • Chris Coons, U.S. Senate, Delaware
  • Brian Bilbray, U.S. House of Representatives, 50th District of California
  • David Danielson, Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
  • Dallas Tonsager, USDA Under Secretary of Rural Development
  • Sharon E. Burke, Assistant Secretary of Defense for Operational Energy Plans & Programs
  • Margo Tsirigotis Oge, Director of EPA Office of Transportation and Air Quality
  • Christopher G. Standlee, Abengoa Executive Vice President
  • Peter Williams, INEOS Chief Executive Officer
  • Vice Admiral Dennis V. McGinn, ACORE President
  • David Terry, ASERTTI/NASEO Executive Director