You are here

Washington, D.C. - The U.S. Department of Energy today announced the establishment of the Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee (ERAC). ERAC is a federal advisory committee whose members will report directly to the Secretary of Energy with advice on the portfolio of the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE). The 19 members selected have experience in a variety of sectors and will bring a range of technical expertise and perspectives to the committee. 

"We are fortunate to have such knowledgeable people volunteering their time and efforts to the Department's clean energy endeavors," said Secretary Chu. "They will be contributing their expertise and experience to help address the energy challenges faced by our Nation."

ERAC will periodically review EERE's portfolio and provide advice to the Secretary of Energy on a variety of areas including:  completion of long-range plans, priorities and strategies; program funding; and any issues of specific concern expressed by the Secretary of Energy or the Assistant Secretary for EERE. ERAC is expected to meet twice a year; the meetings will be open to the public. The Committee is being established in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA).  DOE also expects to organize various subcommittees under ERAC.  Learn more about the Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee.

Below are the selected members of the ERAC:

Yet-Ming ChiangKyocera Professor of Ceramics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Lonnie EdelheitSenior Vice President, Research & Development, General Electric Company (Retired)
Ira Ehrenpreis General Partner, Technology Partners
Philip GiudiceCommissioner, Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources
Hal HarveyCEO, ClimateWorks Foundation
Mark JacobsonProfessor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Director, Atmosphere/Energy Program, Stanford University
Jay KeaslingCEO, Joint BioEnergy Institute and Professor, University of California, Berkeley
Neal LaneThe Malcolm Gillis University Professor, Rice University
Ed LazowskaBill & Melinda Gates Chair in Computer Science & Engineering, University of Washington
Richard LesterJapan Steel Industry Professor, Head of the Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering, and faculty co-chair and founding Director of the Industrial Performance Center, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Kathleen McGintyOperating Partner, Element LLC
Arati PrabhakarPartner, U.S. Venture Partners
Stanley PrussPartner, 5 Lakes Energy LLC
Burton RichterPaul Pigott Professor in the Physical Sciences Emeritus, Senior Fellow Freeman Spogli Institute of International Studies, Stanford University; and Director Emeritus, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
Arthur RosenfeldDistinguished Scientist Emeritus, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Janette Sadik-KhanCommissioner, New York City Department of Transportation
Subir SanyalPresident and Manager of Reservoir Engineering Services, GeothermEx, Inc.
Maxine SavitzGeneral Manager, Honeywell/AlliedSignal (Retired)
Mark StoeringVice President, Portfolio Strategy & Business Development, Xcel Energy

Follow the Department of Energy on Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Flickr. Follow Secretary Chu on his Facebook page.

Media contact(s):

(202) 586-4940