You are here

WASHINGTON, DC - The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) today announced the winners of DOE's 2007 Secretarial Small Business Awards during a ceremony for its 9th Annual Small Business Conference in San Antonio, Texas.  DOE's Small Business Awards program was established to recognize performance by departmental offices, facility management contractors and small business ventures on an annual basis.

"Small businesses are a critical part of the fabric of the American economy, and the Department of Energy will continue to provide an environment in which these businesses can thrive and prosper," Acting Deputy Secretary of Energy Jeffrey Kupfer said.  "We encourage small businesses to take advantage of the Department's contracting opportunities, and we congratulate recipients of the 2007 Secretarial Small Business Awards."

Acting Deputy Secretary Kupfer delivered remarks at the 9th Annual Small Business Conference and discussed President Bush's Small Business Agenda, which includes enabling small businesses to participate fully in federal contracts, and DOE's commitment to that goal.  This conference featured prominent government, corporate and business leaders who discussed strategies small businesses can use to better access DOE procurement opportunities.

A Business Exposition provided an opportunity for businesses to showcase their products and services to hundreds of corporate and government attendees, including DOE's prime contractors.  A Matchmaking Forum, to be held Thursday, June 26, will provide a unique opportunity to schedule one-on-one meetings with procurement representatives from DOE's program offices and prime contractors to learn more about the $2 billion in potential subcontracting opportunities during FY 2008.

The following winners received a Secretarial Award for their dedication and high achievement to encourage small business participation in Fiscal Year 2007:

  1. Federal Program Manager of the Year
    Recipient: Greg F. Gonzales Small Business Program Manager
    National Nuclear Security Administration Service Center
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  2. Federal Small Business Achievement
    Recipient:  National Nuclear Security Administration
  3. M&O Program Manager of the Year
    Recipient:  Keith S. Joy, Small Business Program Manager
    UT-Battelle, LLC - DOE's Oak Ridge National Laboratory
    Oak Ridge, Tennessee
  4. M & O Small Business Achievement
    Recipient:  Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC
    Las Vegas, Nevada
  5. 8(a) Program Protégé
    Recipient:  GenQuest, Inc.,
    Owner:Terri Giron-Gordon
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  6. DOE Mentor
    Recipient:  B&W Y-12
    Oakridge, Tennessee
  7. DOE Protégé
    Recipient:  TerranearPMC,
    President & CEO: Amar Raval
    Exton, Pennsylvania
  8. DOE Small Business of the Year
    Recipient:  Haselwood Enterprises, Inc.
    President: Rose Wood
    Oakridge, Tennessee
  9. 8(a)/SDB Contractor of the Year
    Recipient:  SolutiuonWerx
    President: Lisa Adkins
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  10. Woman-Owned Small Business of the Year
    Recipient:  Randolph Construction Services, Inc.
    President: Khris Judy
    Pasco, Washington
  11. HUBZone Contractor of the Year
    Recipient: Swift & Staley Mechanical Contractors, Inc.
    Administrative Manager Linda Tutor
    Kevil, Kentucky
  12. Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business of the Year
    Recipient:  Clauss Construction
    President: Patrick Clauss
    Lakeside, California
  13. Small Business Innovative Research-Small Business of the Year
    Recipient:  Deep Web Technologies, Inc.
    President and CTO: Abe Lederman
    Santa Fe, New Mexico
  14. Small Technology Transfer Research-Small Business of the Year
    Recipient:  SABIA, Inc.
    President: Clint Lingren
    San Diego, California

 DOE's Annual Small Business Conference runs June 24-26th at the Grand Hyatt San Antonio.  Learn more information about the Small Business Conference and contracting with DOE.

Media contact(s):

Kristin Brown, (202) 586-4940