You are here

WASHINGTON, DC - The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) today announced the members of its newly-established Electricity Advisory Committee.  The 30 inaugural members will serve one- or two-year terms and include some of the nation's top public and private sector leaders in electricity policy, planning and operations.  The Committee was established to provide counsel to the Department on long-range planning and priorities for the modernization of the Nation's electricity delivery infrastructure.

"To meet our nation's growing energy needs, we must continue to integrate emerging technologies and implement bold policies that ensure clean, affordable and reliable supplies of electricity to the American people," DOE Assistant Secretary for Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability Kevin Kolevar said.  "The Department will benefit greatly from the advice and counsel we will receive from this diverse and talented group of individuals.  The Committee's guidance and support are welcome as we make critical decisions on strategically important electricity related issues."

The Committee-chartered by Secretary Bodman last month-will provide senior-level counsel to DOE's Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability in carrying out its mission and meeting requirements of the Energy Policy Act of 2005 and the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007.  In addition, the Committee will advise the Office on deployment of smart grid technologies, research and development of energy storage technologies, renewable energy resource system integration, and new transmission infrastructure to ensure the efficient delivery of electricity.

Linda Stuntz, who served as Deputy Secretary of Energy from 1992-1993 and held other senior positions in DOE from 1989-1992, will chair the Committee.  The Committee will hold its first meeting on May 20, 2008 in Arlington, VA and will meet at least annually thereafter.  The Committee may choose to hold additional meetings and may appoint subcommittees to undertake certain projects as needed.  The Electricity Advisory Committee is compliant with the 1972 Federal Advisory Committee Act. 

The following are the inaugural members of Department of Energy's Electricity Advisory Committee:

Linda Stuntz, Committee Chair
Founding Partner
Stuntz, Davis & Staffier, P.C.

Guido Bartels
General Manager
Global Energy and Utilities

Gerry Cauley
President and Chief Executive Officer
Southeast Electric Reliability Council

Ralph Cavanagh
Energy Program
Natural Defense Resources Council

Jose Delgado
President and Chief Executive Officer
American Transmission Company

The Honorable Jeanne Fox
New Jersey Board of Public Utilities

Joseph Garcia
National Congress of American Indians

Robert Gramlich
Policy Director
American Wind Energy Association

The Honorable Dian Grueneich
California Public Utilities Commission

Michael Heyeck
Senior Vice President
American Electric Power

Hunter Hunt
Sharyland Utilities, LLP

Susan Kelly
Vice President
Policy Analysis and General Counsel
American Public Power Association

Irwin Kowenski
Occidental Energy Ventures Corporation

Barry Lawson
Power Delivery
National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

Yakout Mansour
President and Chief Executive Officer
California Independent System Operator

Ralph Masiello
Senior Vice President

John McDonald
General Manager
Marketing, Transmission & Distribution
GE Energy

Steve Nadel
Executive Director
American Council for an Energy Efficiency Economy

David Nevius
Senior Vice President
North American Electric Reliability Corporation

Brad Roberts
Energy Storage Association

Enrique Santacana
President and Chief Executive Officer and Region Manager
ABB North America, ABB, Inc.

The Honorable Tom Sloan
Kansas House of Representatives

The Honorable Barry Smitherman
Texas Public Utilities Commission

Tom Standish
Senior Vice President and Group President
Regulated Operations
CenterPoint Energy

Robert Thomas
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Cornell University

Paul Tonko
President and Chief Executive Officer
New York State Energy Research and Development Authority

Vicky Van Zandt
Senior Vice President
Transmission Business Line
Bonneville Power Administration

Bruce Walker
Senior Staff Attorney
Consolidated Edison of New York

Jonathan Weisgall
Vice President
Legislative and Regulatory Affairs
MidAmerican Energy

Malcolm Woolf
Maryland Energy Administration


Media contact(s):

Bethany Shively (202) 586-4940