You are here

WASHINGTON, DC     – Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham released the following statement today:

“It is with regret that I announce the resignation of Deputy Secretary of Energy, Kyle McSlarrow.  Kyle has served with distinction since the first day of President Bush’s first term in office.  First, as my Chief of Staff, and then as Deputy Secretary since 2002, Kyle has been at my side for the last four years.

“As the Department’s Chief Operating Officer, Kyle has led and implemented many of the successful reforms of the last four years.  Perhaps his greatest accomplishment has been in overseeing the dramatic change in how this Department is managed – most visibly seen in the Department’s rating by the Office of Management and Budget as the best managed Cabinet agency in 2004 after having been rated as the worst in 2001.

“On a personal note, Kyle has worked closely with me to implement all of the major initiatives of this Administration.  He has done so with total dedication to the job, our President and our country.  I am grateful for his friendship and for his service to our nation.  Jane and I wish Kyle, and his wife Alison, the very best in their future endeavors.”

McSlarrow said, “I have been honored to serve President Bush and Secretary Abraham.   I am grateful to them for their confidence in me and grateful to all my colleagues at the Department of Energy and throughout the Administration for making these past four years rewarding ones.”

As the Chief Operating Officer (COO) of the Department of Energy, McSlarrow oversaw an agency with over 100,000 federal and contractor employees, 17 national labs, and a budget of $23 billion.

McSlarrow’s resignation is effective in early February.  Prior to his tenure at the Department, McSlarrow has had a long and distinguished career in Washington, including service with the late U.S. Senator Paul Coverdell as Chief of Staff and as Deputy Chief of Staff and Chief Counsel to both Senate Majority Leaders Bob Dole and Trent Lott.  He is a native of Virginia.

Media contacts:
Jeanne Lopatto, 202/586-4940
Joe Davis, 202/586-4940