North Carolina enacted legislation ([http://www.ncleg.net/Sessions/2009/Bills/House/PDF/H1389v7.pdf H.B. 1389]) in August 2009 that authorizes cities and counties to establish revolving loan programs to finance renewable energy and energy efficiency projects that are permanently affixed to residential, commercial or other real property. A revolving loan program generally refers to a loan fund, where the loan repayments and interest are fed back into the fund.
Several provisions of Missouri law govern energy efficiency in state facilities. In 1993 Missouri enacted legislation requiring life-cycle cost analysis for all new construction of state buildings and substantial renovations of existing state buildings when major energy systems are involved. Substantial renovations involve projects that will affect at least 50% of the building's square footage or cost at least 50% of its market value.
Utah requires the state's only investor-owned utility, Rocky Mountain Power (RMP), and most electric cooperatives* to offer net metering to customers who generate electricity using solar energy, wind energy, hydropower, hydrogen, biomass, landfill gas, geothermal energy, waste gas or waste heat capture and recovery. The bill that established net metering also established some basic rules for interconnection. In April 2010, the Utah Public Service Commission (PSC) adopted final rules for interconnection. The rules described below took effect April 30, 2010.
New Hampshire requires all utilities selling electricity in the state to offer net metering to customers who own or operate systems up to one megawatt (1 MW) in capacity that generate electricity using solar, wind, geothermal, hydro, tidal, wave, biomass, landfill gas, bio-oil or biodiesel. CHP systems that use natural gas, wood pellets, hydrogen, propane or heating oil are also eligible.* The aggregate statewide capacity limit of all net-metered systems is 50 MW.
In March 2008, the Florida Public Service Commission (PSC) adopted interconnection rules for renewable-energy systems up to two megawatts (MW) in capacity. The PSC rules apply only to the state's investor-owned utilities; the rules do not apply to electric cooperatives or municipal utilities.
Florida's interconnection rules include provisions for three tiers of renewable-energy systems:
* Tier 1: 10 kilowatts (kW) or less
* Tier 2: Larger than 10 kW, but not larger than 100 kW
* Tier 3: Larger than 100 kW, but not larger than 2 MW
Tennessee offers a special ad valorem property tax assessment for certified green energy production facilities. Property that generates electricity from a certified facility shall be assessed as follows:
'''''Note: Connecticut's 2013 Budget Bill, enacted in June 2013, transfers a total of $25.4 million out of the Clean Energy Finance and Investment Authority into the General Fund - $6.2 million in FY 2014 and $19.2 million in FY 2015.'''''
Under the Community-Based Energy Development (C-BED) Tariff, each public utility in Minnesota is required to file with the state Public Utilities Commission (PUC) to create a 20-year power purchase agreement (PPA) for community-owned renewable energy projects. The original legislation was enacted in 2005 but has been amended several times subsequently. Utilities were required to submit revised tariffs for the 2007 amendments by December 1, 2007.
'''''Note: The deadline for the most-recent round of funding under this program, which offered a total of $1.8 million in grants, was June 7, 2013. This summary is provided for reference only. Contact the PUC about the possibility of future funding rounds under this program.'''''
The New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission (PUC) offers grant funding for renewable-energy projects installed at commercial, industrial, public, non-profit, municipal or school facilities, or multi-family residences with at least three units. There is no stated maximum individual award.
In May 2011, Indiana enacted SB 251, creating the Clean Energy Portfolio Standard (CPS). The program sets a voluntary goal of 10% clean energy by 2025, based on the amount of electricity supplied by the utility in 2010. The Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC) adopted emergency rules (RM #11-05) for the CPS in December 2011. Final rules were adopted in June 2012, effective July 9, 2012.