You are here

About Us

Deborah S. Jin - Physicist, National Institute of Standards & Technology & Professor Adjoint for Physics at the University of Colorado, Boulder

Deborah S. Jin

Dr. Deborah S. Jin is a fellow of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and an adjoint professor of physics at the University of Colorado Boulder. Dr. Jin is also a fellow of JILA, a joint research institute of NIST and the University of Colorado at Boulder. 

Dr. Jin did her Ph.D. work on heavy fermion superconductors. After receiving her Ph.D., Dr. Jin interests shifted focus to the new ultracold gases being developed in atomic physics.  As a postdoctoral scientist with NIST, she worked on some of the first experimental studies of Bose-Einstein condensates in ultracold gases of atoms.  Dr. Jin is known for her creation of the first ultracold gas of fermions and the realization of a superfluid of paired fermions. This new state of matter links Bose-Einstein condensation and superconductivity, and detailed studies of its behavior may be crucial in further elucidating superconductivity.  Dr. Jin’s current research efforts include studies of ultracold Fermi gases, the creation and investigation of an ultracold gas of polar molecules, and studies of strongly interacting Bose-Einstein condensates and Bose-Fermi gas mixtures.

Dr. Jin received an A.B. in physics from Princeton University and a Ph.D. in condensed matter physics from the University of Chicago. She is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Jin was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2005 and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2007, and she received an additional honorary doctorate from the University of Chicago in 2009.

Dr. Jin’s research accomplishments have been recognized through numerous awards, including a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers in 2000; NIST’s Samuel W. Stratton Award in 2001; the American Physical Society’s Maria-Goeppert Mayer Award in 2002; the National Academy of Sciences Award for Initiatives in Research in 2002; a John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Fellowship in 2003; the Arthur S. Flemming Award (Scientific Category) in 2003; the Service to America Medal: Science and Environment in 2004; a Scientific American 50: Research Leader of the Year in 2004; the American Physical Society’s I.I. Rabi Prize in 2005; the Bonfils-Stanton Foundation Award in Science and Medicine in 200; the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics in 2008; Sigma Xi’s William Proctor Prize for Scientific Achievement in 2009; a Department of Commerce Gold Medal 2011; and the L’Oreal-UNESCO Women in Science Award for North America in 2012.