Systems up to 30 kW have the option of receiving an expected performance based buydown (EPBB) or a performance based incentive (PBI). Systems larger than 30 kW are only eligible for the PBI.
EPBB (effective 6/1/12):
Residential: $1.40/watt AC
Commercial and all PPAs: $0.85/watt AC
Non-profits and Government: $1.60/watt AC
Income-qualified residential: $4.00/watt
PBI (effective 6/1/12):
Commercial and all PPAs: $0.129/kWh
Non-profit and Government: $0.242/kWh
Income-qualified residential: $0.632/kWh
PBI is awarded for the first 5 years of the system's operation.
Pasadena Water and Power (PWP) offers its electric customers a rebate for photovoltaic (PV) installations, with a goal of helping to fund the installation of 14 megawatts (MW) of solar power by 2017. The rebate amount varies depending on the customer class installing the system and the system's size. Systems up to 30 kilowatts (kW) are eligible for the Expected Performance Based Buydown (EPBB) or can opt for the performance based incentive (PBI). The EPBB provides a one-time lump sum payment after installation and inspection approval based on the system's estimated AC energy output. The energy output is estimated using the California Energy Commission's Clean Power Estimator, which accounts for installation factors such as current and future shading and system orientation. The PBI awards payments based on the actual metered electricity production of the system during its first five years. Larger systems, over 30 kW and up to 1,000 kW, are only eligible for the PBI.
As required by the California Solar Initiative, the PBI and EPBB incentive levels will step down annually over the 10-year life of this program. As of June 1, 2012, the base rate for the EPBB is $1.40/watt AC for residential, $0.85/watt for commercial, $1.60/watt for non-profits and government, and $4.00/watt for income-qualified residential. These levels are reduced depending on the Clean Power Estimator's analysis of the system. The current rate for the PBI is $0.212/kWh for residential. $0.129/kWh for commercial, $0.242/kWh for non-profit and government applicants, and $0.632/kWh for income qualified residential.
Must use CEC-certified [http://www.gosolarcalifornia.org/equipment/pv_modules.php PV modules] and [http://www.gosolarcalifornia.org/equipment/inverters.php inverters].
Systems must be grid-connected.
Inverters and modules must each carry a 10-year warranty.
PV modules must be UL 1703-certified
Inverters must be UL 1741-certified, and tested by the Energy Commission