Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting Agenda March 26 and 27, 2015 NRECA Conference Center, Arlington, VA

Thursday, March 26, 2015

12:00 to 1:00 pm	EAC Leadership Committee Meeting
12:00 to 1:00 pm	Registration Public Signup for Comments on Day 2
1:00 to 1:15 pm	Welcome, Introductions, Developments since the September 2014 Meeting Richard Cowart, EAC Chair and Matthew Rosenbaum, EAC Designated Federal Officer
1:15 to 1:45 pm	Update on the DOE Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability's Programs and Initiatives Honorable Patricia Hoffman, Assistant Secretary for Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability
1:45 to 2:05 pm	Opening Remarks and Update on the DOE Quadrennial Technology Review Dr. Lynn Orr, Undersecretary for Science and Energy, DOE
2:05 to 2:35 pm	Briefing by the National Laboratory Consortium Representatives Bill Parks, Senior Technical Advisor for Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability, DOE
2:35 to 2:50 pm	Break

Session: Grid Modernization

Session Chair, Clark Gellings, EAC Member

2:50 to 3:25 pm	Technology Transfer Programs at the Department of Energy
	Steven McMaster (DOE Office of Technology Transitions)
3:25 to 4:00 pm	ARPA-E Electricity Research Programs
	Timothy Heidel (ARPA-E)
4:00 to 4:35 pm	Grid Architecture
	Jeffrey Taft (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)
4:35 to 5:10 pm	Making the Distribution Grid More Open, Efficient and Resilient
	Paul De Martini (Newport Consulting Group)
5:10 to 5:30 pm	EAC Member Discussion of Cyber Security Working Group Plans
	Andy Bochman, Idaho National Laboratory and EAC Cyber Security Working Group Member
5:30 to 5:45 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn Day One of March 2015 Meeting of the EAC
	Richard Cowart, EAC Chair
5:45 to 7:45 pm	No-Host Dinner for EAC Members and DOE Staff

Electricity Advisory Committee Meeting Agenda March 26 and 27, 2015 NRECA Conference Center, Arlington, VA

Friday, March 27, 2015

Prior to 8:00 am	Breakfast on your own
8:00 to 8:40 am	Update on the DOE Quadrennial Energy Review
	Karen Wayland, Deputy Director for State and Local Cooperation for EPSA, DOE
8:40 to 9:20 am	EAC Smart Grid Subcommittee Activities and Plans
	Wanda Reder, EAC Smart Grid Subcommittee Chair
	- Recommendations on Research and Development – Seek EAC Approval (Clark Gellings)
	- Status of Distributed Storage paper status (Carlos Coe)
	- Status of paper on ARRA Projects Information, Data, and Next Steps (Wanda Reder)
9:20 to 9:40 am	EAC Member Discussion of Smart Grid Subcommittee Plans
9:40 to 9:50 am	Break
9:50 to 11:20 am	Panel - ARRA-Supported Smart Grid Deployment Efforts
	Moderator, Hank Kenchington, Deputy Assistant Secretary for the Advanced Grid Integration
	Division for the Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability, DOE
	David Wade (EPB Chattanooga)
	Craig Miller (NRECA)
	 Vickie VanZandt (VanZandt Electric Transmission Consulting)
	Karen Lefkowitz (Pepco)
	Jay Oliver (Duke Energy)
11:20 to 11:40 am	EAC Discussion of ARRA-Supported Smart Grid Deployment Efforts
11:40 to 11:50 am	EAC Power Delivery Subcommittee Activities and Plans
	David Till, Power Delivery Subcommittee Chair
11:50 to 11:55 am	EAC Member Discussion of Power Delivery Subcommittee
11:55 to 12:25 pm	EAC Energy Storage Subcommittee Activities and Plans
	Merwin Brown, Energy Storage Subcommittee Chair
12:25 to 12:40 pm	EAC Member Discussion of Energy Storage Subcommittee Plans
12:40 to 12:45 pm	Public Comments
	Must register at time of check in
12:45 to 12:50 pm	Wrap-up and Adjourn March 2015 Meeting of the EAC
	Richard Cowart, EAC Chair