You are here

OE Contributors Named IEEE Fellows

February 29, 2012 - 3:51pm


Two Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) executives who have worked with OE-funded projects were recently named fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Dr. Ram Adapa, technical leader for transmission systems, and Mark McGranaghan, vice president of Power Delivery & Utilization for EPRI were recognized for their contributions to IEEE fields of interest.

Dr. Ram Adapa was recognized for leadership in direct current and flexible AC transmission systems. Dr. Adapa, through his technical leadership and innovative research ideas, has contributed significantly to the advancement of high-voltage direct current transmission and flexible AC transmission systems (FACTS) technologies within electric utilities. He managed EPRI’s competitively-awarded project to develop a solid-state fault current limiter, funded by DOE.

Mr. Mark McGranaghan was recognized for contributions to the analysis of power quality issues. Mr. McGranaghan leads the EPRI teams responsible for research involving technologies, systems, and practices for power delivery systems from the generator to the plug and for the devices and technologies that use the electricity. He has coordinated EPRI’s smart grid initiatives with ARRA-funded projects on distributed energy integration and was involved in the creation of OE’s Smart Grid Research and Development Multi-Year Program Plan 2010-2014.

IEEE Fellow is the highest grade of membership and is recognized by the technical community as a prestigious honor and an important career achievement.

Learn more about the honorees and IEEE.