You are here

Contacts for the Assistant General Counsel for Electricity and Fossil Energy

Office of the Assistant General Counsel for Electricity & Fossil Energy (GC-76)

The attorneys in the GC-76 office provide counsel to the Department of Energy Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability, Office of Energy Policy and Systems Analysis, Office of Fossil Energy, and the Office of Indian Energy Policy and Programs.  GC-76 handles the headquarters coordination with legal counsel for the four power marketing administrations.  GC-76 also intervenes on behalf of the Department and other agencies in state public utility commission proceedings that affect the energy rates paid by federal entities.  Specific areas of legal expertise include energy emergency authorities, critical energy infrastructure protection and cyber security, electricity and natural gas exports, and the Strategic Petroleum Reserve.

Steven A. Porter, Assistant General Counsel for Electricity & Fossil Energy
202-586-4219
Steven.Porter@hq.doe.gov 

Bettie Corey, Administrative Support Specialist
202-586-9507
bettie.corey@hq.doe.gov

Cassandra S. Bernstein, Attorney-Adviser
(202) 586-9793
Cassandra.Bernstein@hq.doe.gov

Christopher Drake, Attorney-Adviser
(202) 586-2919
Christoper.Drake@hq.doe.gov

Rishi Garg, Attorney-Adviser
(202) 586-0258
Rishi.Garg@hq.doe.gov

Katherine L. Konieczny, Attorney-Adviser
(202) 586-0503
Katherine.Konieczny@hq.doe.gov

Edward B. Myers, Attorney-Adviser
(202) 586-3397
Edward.Myers@hq.doe.gov