You are here

Energy Department’s Data Director Named Presidential Innovation Fellow

August 23, 2012 - 5:14pm


The Presidential Innovation Fellows being sworn in today. | Photo courtesy of the Office of Science and Technology Policy.

The Presidential Innovation Fellows being sworn in today. | Photo courtesy of the Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Today U.S. Chief Technology Officer Todd Park announced the first class of 18 Presidential Innovation Fellows, and Ian Kalin, the Energy Department’s Director of the Energy Data Initiative was among them!

Ian, a Navy veteran and former energy sector entrepreneur, was selected as part of a highly competitive process managed by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. As a Presidential Innovation Fellow, Ian will work on the Administration’s Open Data Initiative.

The goal of the Open Data Initiative is to liberate data as a fuel for innovation while rigorously protecting privacy and confidentiality. With new access to open datasets and technologies, entrepreneurs can create new products, apps, and services that add tremendous value to the lives of Americans. 

By working creatively with companies and other organizations, the Open Data Initiative will save Americans money and accelerate job creation. The Energy Data Initiative also will aid in reducing energy costs, improving energy efficiency, and supporting the protection of the environment.  

The five projects, and the Fellows who will be working on each, are:

Blue Button for America will spread the ability for millions of Americans to easily and securely download their own health information electronically, all while fueling the emergence of time and money saving products and businesses.

• Henry Wei, MD – Practicing doctor and informatics expert, New York, NY
• Ryan Panchadsaram – Founder of Pipette, San Francisco, CA
• Matt McCall – Information systems expert, Baltimore, MD

RFP-EZ aims to develop an online marketplace that will make it easier for the government to do business with small high-growth tech companies, and enabling the government to buy better, lower-cost tech solutions from the full range of American businesses. 

• Clay Johnson – Best-selling author, open government technologist and entrepreneur, Washington, DC
• Jed Wood – Interaction designer, web developer, and entrepreneur, Chicago, IL
• Adam Becker – Web developer and co-founder of civic engagement startup GovHub, Oakland, CA

MyGov will create a prototype of a streamlined online system enabling citizens to easily access the information and services from across the Federal Government.

• Kara DeFrias – User experience writer from TurboTax San Diego, CA
• Phil Ashlock – Open government program manager and co-founder of Civic Commons, Brooklyn, NY
• Danny Chapman – Award-winning website designer, Riverside, RI
• Greg Gershman – Software engineer and serial entrepreneur Baltimore, MD
• Ben Balter – Software engineer, Washington, DC

The 20% Initiative will work to transition“the last mile” of international development assistance payments from cash to electronic methods – lowering administrative costs, promoting financial inclusion, and reducing theft, fraud, and violence.

• Karl Mehta – Serial entrepreneur and founder of PlaySpan, Fremont, CA

Open Data Initiatives will accelerate and expand Administration efforts to make government data more publicly accessible in “computer-readable” form and spur the use of those data by entrepreneurs as fuel for the creation of new products, services, and jobs.

• Ian Kalin – Navy veteran and managing director of an energy sector startup, San Francisco, CA
• Marina Martin – Web developer and business efficiency expert, Seattle, WA
• Raphael Majma – Open data researcher, Brooklyn, NY
• Nick Bramble – Director, Law & Media Program, Information Society Project at Yale Law School, New Haven, CT
• Dmitry Kachaev – Software engineer, Arlington, VA
• Nathaniel Manning – Robotics entrepreneur and member of the World Economic Forum’s Personal Data team and Google’s Data Colloquium team, San Francisco, CA

Learn more about the Presidential Innovation Fellows.